Blog

Another DUI Can Mean Harsh Consequences

Posted by John C. Taylor | May 01, 2019 | 0 Comments

In Tennessee, the punishment for a repeat conviction for driving under the influence (DUI) or a felony DUI is harsh and getting harsher. If charged, individuals face loss of freedom, access to family, and their driver's license in addition to incurring substantial monetary fines. If you or a loved one is facing a charge for DUI and this is not a first offense, your best defense comes in the form of an experienced criminal defense attorney. At Dotson & Taylor Attorneys at Law in Murfreesboro, our DUI lawyers provide skillful negotiation and aggressive litigation, bringing the necessary expertise and experience to fighting on your behalf.

What happens if I am charged with a second DUI offense?

In Tennessee, the penalties for DUI increase substantially with a second offense within 5 years. Punishments may include the following:

  • Jail time of 45 days to one year
  • Loss of driver's license for at least a two year period, with a restricted driver's license available after one year
  • Mandatory participation and completion of DUI school
  • Monetary fines
  • If your DUI resulted in an injury to another person, then you must compensate that person for the cost of their injuries or loss
  • Possible vehicle confiscation
  • Possible mandatory participation in an alcohol education, assessment and treatment program
  • Possible installation of an ignition interlock device installed in the vehicle

Penalties for more than two offenses increase substantially

Penalties for a third DUI conviction increase even further and may include the following:

  • Jail time of 120 days to one year
  • Loss of driver's license for a period of 6-10 years without the possibility of obtaining a restricted license
  • Incrementally higher monetary fines, plus other costs and restitutions
  • Possible vehicle confiscation
  • Possible mandatory participation in an alcohol education, assessment and treatment program
  • Possible installation of an ignition interlock device installed in the vehicle

In cases of a fourth – and any subsequent — DUI conviction, the charge is elevated from a misdemeanor to a Class E felony. The penalties also increase to:

  • Jail time of at least one year
  • Loss of driver's license for a period of 8 years without possibility of obtaining a restricted license
  • Higher monetary fines
  • Possible vehicle confiscation
  • Possible mandatory participation in an alcohol education, assessment and treatment program
  • Possible installation of an ignition interlock device installed in the vehicle

Speak with a Murfreesboro Criminal Defense Lawyer

The experienced Murfreesboro criminal defense team at Taylor Law Group is ready to help. We help our clients defend against all types of criminal charges, so please do not wait to contact us online or call 615-890-1982 for a consultation.

About the Author

John C. Taylor

John C. Taylor is a Murfreesboro native and a graduate of Oakland High School. He earned his bachelor's degree from Furman University in Greenville, SC, where he participated in the Furman Advantage Research program, studying religion in American politics. John also earned his Master's degree.

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment